The imposing St John’s Hall has been a central figure of Penzance life since it was completed in 1867. Designed by John Matthews, the building was created to reflect the growing importance of the town in the Victorian era. Built with granite from the nearby Lamorna quarry, the building’s West Wing was previously a natural history museum and home to the Royal Geological Society of Cornwall, the second oldest geological society in the world. Over time the building became in need of investment and revitalising with Cornwall Council keen for St John’s Hall to offer a modern, interactive community space for local residents while retaining its unique and formidable architecture and character. The building redesign needed to incorporate the relocation of the town’s library service, a One Stop Shop community enquiry drop-in centre and registry office. The blueprint also needed to include modern interview, community and shared meeting rooms as well as office accommodation to house Cornwall Council staff. With strong public affection for the grand building, Midas was keen to bring much-needed modernisation to St John’s Hall in a sympathetic way, utilising and preserving all of the traditional architecture, which it had become iconic for.